Awards Convocation Recipients Named

Release Date: 
May 7, 2009

Sterling College recognized scholarship winners and other outstanding students during the annual Awards Convocation held April 3, 2009 in Culbertson
Students recognized for individual scholarships were:
Aleta J. Matthews Endowed Scholarship:Tessa Blackwell, Whitney Dautel
Bill Thayer Memorial Scholarship in Theatre:Jennie Czuba, Sara Kanary
Bill Thayer Memorial Scholarship in Business:Danielle Brocato
Castrodalel Family Endowed Scholarship: Allie Graham
Charles and Opal Hall Memorial Chemistry Scholarship:Rachael Svaty

Gillespie Resigns as Head Golf Coach at Sterling College

Release Date: 
May 12, 2009

STERLING, Kans., -- Sterling College Athletic Director, Andy Lambert, announced today that Sean Gillespie has resigned his position as Head Golf Coach and assistant basketball at Sterling College. Gillespie is planning on pursuing a graduate degree at another institution.
According to Lambert, a search for his replacement will begin immediately.
For more information contact Justin Morris, Sports Information Director, Sterling College at (620) 278-4324.

Felicia Squires recognized for Sterling College’s McCreery Teaching Award

Release Date: 
May 12, 2009

Felicia Squires, associate professor of Language and Literature at Sterling College, was awarded the 2008-2009 McCreery Teaching Award during recent Commencement Exercises at Smisor Stadium.

Sterling College's Online Division Experiences Growth, Meets Students' Needs

Release Date: 
May 18, 2009

Sterling Teacher Education Program Provides Growth Opportunities, Sees Results

Release Date: 
May 18, 2009

The goal of Sterling College's Education department is to prepare students to be top-quality teachers. Professor Terri Gaeddert says, "We do everything we can to train our students, not just for the challenging situations they will face in the classroom, but even for the interviewing skills they need to obtain a job." This year there are some very visible results of all that preparation.

Outstanding Male and Female Graduates Named at Sterling College Commencement

Release Date: 
May 19, 2009

Sterling College awarded the outstanding graduating student awards to David Fuller and Melissa Yarrow during the commencement exercises on Saturday, April 25, at Smisor Stadium.
Both Fuller and Yarrow were cited for their service in student government, their leadership on mission trips, and their participation and excellence in their respective fields of study.

Sterling College Releases Spring 2009 Dean's List

Release Date: 
June 1, 2009

Sterling College has named 150 students to its Dean’s List for the Spring 2009 semester. Criteria for the Dean’s List include the completion of at least twelve graded credit hours and a cumulative and semester GPA of 3.5 or better. The following students were named to the list.
Brett Allman of Key Largo, Florida
Tyler Ball of Great Bend, KS
Ashley Barnes of Colby, Kansas
Rebekah Bell of Medicine Lodge, Kansas
Marty Boeschling of Clay Center, Kansas
Jean Bosch of Wichita, Kansas
Jared Brown of Augusta, Kansas

Students to participate in SC's mission trip to Peru

Release Date: 
June 2, 2009

Six Sterling College students and four SC employees will be traveling to Peru this summer on a short term mission trip. The team will be leaving on June 16 and staying for two weeks.

SC Hires Dr. Marvin Dewey as VP for Institutional Advancement

Release Date: 
June 8, 2009

Sterling College is pleased to announce that Dr. Marvin Dewey, a native of Great Bend, Kan., has accepted the position of Vice President for Institutional Advancement.

Luke Cureton hired to lead Sterling College Golf Team

Release Date: 
June 8, 2009

Sterling College Athletic Director Andy Lambert announced today the hiring of Luke Cureton as head golf coach for the Warriors. Cureton will also assist with the men’s basketball program.
“We are pleased to announce the hiring of Luke as the head coach of our golf program,” Lambert said. “Luke is well known around the SC community and will be a great asset to our golf program and our athletic department.”