SC Debate Team Captures State Title at State Collegiate Championship Tournament

Monday, March 7, 2011

Continuing their record setting season, the Sterling College Debate team successfully hosted the State Collegiate Championship Tournament on February 18-19, and captured yet another state title. This marks the fourth consecutive year that the Sterling Debate team has captured

 either the individual or team title in parliamentary debate. In addition, Emily Graham of Hutchinson, Kan., and Nolan 

Chaney of South Hutchinson, Kan., were named the top two speakers in the tournament.

To this point in the season, the Sterling College team has captured first at seven tournaments and has had teams advance to elimination rounds at ten of the eleven tournaments attended.

The team is currently preparing for the final national competitions of the season: the National Parliamentary Debate Association National Tournament, to be held in Colorado Springs, Colo., on March 16-19 and the Pi Kappa Delta National Forensics Tournament, to be held in Portland, Ore., on March 23-26.

The team is currently ranked 8th in the nation as per the National Parliamentary Debate Association which tracks the performance of all 232 schools which compete in debate throughout the nation. Team members this season have included Emily Graham, Shelby Twiss, Nolan Chaney, Jessica Brayton, Alex Lawhon-Bush, Ryan Corwin, Fay Carey, Jacob Skala, Melzora Towne, Jason Phillips, Ryan McFarland, David Bowers, Daniel Hogan, Cara Spencer and Terrance Volden.