Warriors Win State Debate Championship

Friday, March 2, 2012

This weekend at the Kansas Individual Events and Parliamentary Championship, the Sterling College Debate Team captured the state championship title.

Not only did they walk away with first place overall, the team had the top three individual teams, the top four speakers, the first place duo in the novice debate division, fourth place overall in the Forensics State Tournament, and eleven top-six finishes in individual categories. The state tournament was hosted by Ottawa University.

The Debate Championship was wrapped up by Brandon Hoesli of Salina, Kan., and Melzora Towne of Sterling, Kan. as the first place pair, followed by Jessica Brayton of Lyons, Kan., and Nolan Chaney of South Hutchinson, Kan., in second. To clinch the title, third place was carried by Ryan Corwin of Sterling, Kan., and Courtney Hensley of Geneseo, Kan. Brayton, Hoesli, Towne, and Corwin also finished as the top four individual speakers respectively.

In the novice division, Ashley McHenry of Great Bend, Kan., and Tyler Brotton of Newton, Kan., also took first place accolades.

In the Forensics State Championship, Sterling College placed fourth overall, with Brayton claiming first in extemporaneous speaking. Brayton also took second in communication analysis, third in impromptu speaking, and fifth in informative speaking. Hoesli finished sixth in persuasive speaking. Alex Lawhon-Bush of Newton, Kan., took away two awards, winning second in impromptu speaking and fifth in persuasive speaking. McHenry finished second in dramatic interpretation, sixth in program of oral interpretation, and partnered with Brett Smith of Sterling, Kan., to take sixth place in duo interpretation. Towne finished fourth in dramatic interpretation, and Corwin finished fifth in editorial impromptu.

“We are very excited about winning the state championship title, and I am proud of all of the students’ hard work,” said Ken Troyer, coach of the Sterling College Debate Team. “But I think the team is ready to focus on the National Parliamentary Debate Association National Tournament in March.”